Boy's Soccer Preview: James Wood

Coach: Chris Hild, 4th year

Last year: 9-6-2, 5-2-1, Northwestern District regular season and tournament champion.

Key losses: Matt Henriques (first team All-Northwestern District), Elliot Shiben (first team All-Northwestern District), Josh Marts (first team All-Northwestern District), Jake Carpenter (second team All-Northwestern District), Nick Peacemaker.

Top returning players: Spencer Marfing, Sr. M (first team All-Northwestern District); Logan Yost, Sr. M (second team All-Northwestern District); Chandler DeHaven, Sr. D; Tommy Houser, Jr. M; John Henriques, Jr. F; Alex Pate, Sr. D; Joe Kysela, Sr. GK; Garrett Hodgson, Sr. D.

Newcomers: Chris Francis, Fr. D; Luke Farinholt, Soph. M; Oscar Uribe, Jr. D; Willy Spears, Soph. D; Daniel Schoemann, Soph. D; Brandon Jones, Jr. M; Joe Balderas, Jr. M.

Outlook: The Colonels enter the season with a bull's-eye on their back after sweeping the district's regular season and tournament titles.

That makes the season more challenging going in as the team to beat, but Hild said his team still returns enough talent to contend once again.

"The expectation is to do more of the same," Hild said. "I think they have the momentum and the mentality."

Marfing will be looked to in more of a leadership role with the departure of Matt Henriques.

"Spencer is the leader of it all," Hild said. "I'm looking for more things from Spencer. He was a big part of our game last year, but we didn't need him to lead the team last year. I'm looking for him to step up."

In addition to Marfing, Yost (four goals, eight assists) and Houser (four goals) also return for Wood. One key switch for the Colonels comes in goal with Kysela moving from defender to keeper.

First match: Today vs. Kettle Run, 7:30


JWAA Meetings

The JWAA monthly meeting is held every first Monday of the month. The meeting time starts at 6:00 PM and is held in the school's library. All members are welcomed.

Download Meeting Minutes

$250 Annual Winner

 The winner of the 
$250 Annual Drawing was
Stephanie Ashby

Congratulations and thanks for supporting the JWAA!