Last Chance Track Meet

WINCHESTER — The Sherando boys took second and the Millbrook girls took fourth to lead the way among local teams at the 15-team Last Chance Invitational at Millbrook Friday night.

The Warrior boys scored 57 points, finishing behind only Broad Run (81). James Wood was fourth with 40 points, Handley was 10th with 27.5, Millbrook was 12th with 24, and Clarke County was 15th with 5.

Leading Sherando was Chris Smith (first in the high jump with a mark of 6-3), Travis Ritter (first in the shot put, 50-6), the 4x400-meter relay team of Devon Newman, Smith, Seth Chewey and Ben Hatton (first in 3 minutes, 31 seconds), and Devon Newman (second in the long jump, 20-0), and third in the triple jump, 41-8).

Leading James Wood was John Simms (first in the 100 in 11.28), Joey Bynog (first in the discus, 146-2), and Joe Davet (third in the 3,200 in 10:06.49).

Leading Handley was Chris Arslan (first in the 3,200 in 10:02.25) and Justin Washington (second in the 100 in 11.49).

Leading Millbrook was Justin Neff (second in the discus, 143-4), the 4x200 relay (45.06) and Logan Rodeffer (third in the 100 in 11.51).

Leading Clarke County was Chris Collins (fourth in the 300 hurdles in 41.59).

In the girls’ meet, King George won with 79.5 points, Tuscarora was second with 54, Millbrook was fourth with 43, James Wood was sixth with 38, Sherando was seventh with 37, Clarke County was 10th with 24, and Handley was 12th with 14.

Leading Millbrook was Mia Vandertoorn (first in the long jump, 16-3), McKenzie Schrank (second in the 100 hurdles in 16.87) and the 4x400 team (second in 4:15.34).

Leading James Wood was Katie Houser (first in the high jump, 5-2 and third in the triple jump, 32-11), Amber Hawkins (first in the 3,200 in 11:21.91) and Taje Usher (second in the long jump, 15-6).

Leading Sherando was Candice Banks (third in the 300 hurdles in 49.29), Alaina Combs (third in the discus, 92-9) and the 4x400 team (third in 4:15.70).

Leading Clarke County was Cailtin Lake (first in the 100 hurdles in 16.61) and Ammie Levi (second in the discus, 92-10).

Leading Handley was Abby Swartz (second in the 1,600 in 5:35.03).


smile ge logo light. CB441554320


$250 Annual Winner

 The winner of the 
$250 Annual Drawing was
Stephanie Ashby

Congratulations and thanks for supporting the JWAA!