Sherando Sweeps Swim Meet Against James Wood

Posted: January 23, 2016
From Star staff reports

WINCHESTER — Sherando’s boys clinched the Northwestern District title as the Warriors swept James Wood in a swim meet on Thursday at Jim Barnett Park.

Sherando rolled to a 115-47 triumph in the boys’ meet, while the Warriors girls edged the Colonels 87-83 in the girls’ contest.

Daniel Milburn and Ethan Medrano each won a pair of individual events and were part of two winning relay teams. Milburn captured the 200-meter individual medley (2:20.79) and 100 butterfly (1:03.91), while Medrano swept the 50 (26.70) and 100 (1:01.47) freestyle events.

Other individual winners for the Warriors were: Matthew Pham (200 freestyle in 2:15.23), Alexander Ferguson (400 freestyle in 5:32.86) and Hunter Mayo (100 backstroke) in 1:12.83.

Medrano, Mayo and Milburn joined David Restrepo to capture the 200 freestyle relay (1:51.18). Milburn, Medrano, Pham and Restrepo took the 400 freestyle relay (4:03.76), while Mayo, Pham, Restrepo and Jacob Adams took the 200 medley relay (2:05.28).

Brian Hua captured the 100 breaststroke (1:17.84) for the Colonels’ lone win.

The girls’ competition came down to the final event — the 400 freestyle relay. Kelsie Utz, Stella Mae Williams, Cameryn Ubert and Sarah Lauer won the event in 4:58.00 for the Warriors, who also got two points for finishing third.

Sherando won the meet with balance as James Wood took first place in 7 of 11 events.

Lauer captured the 200 (2:39.37) and 400 (5:37.05) freestyle events for the Warriors. Abigail Sears took the 100 breaststroke (1:27.54).

Zoe Schopick and Lydia Sunderlin won a pair of events for James Wood. Schopick took the 200 individual medley (2:51.65) and 100 butterfly (1:14.97), while Sunderlin swept the 50 (30.72) and 100 (1:07.64) freestyle.

Erin Jackson triumphed in the 100 backstroke (1:17.17). Schopick, Jackson, Sunderlin and Gabrielle Green won the 200 medley relay (2:22.86). Jackson, Schopick, Lydia Sunderlin and Katie Sunderlin took the 200 freestyle relay in 2:05.39.


smile ge logo light. CB441554320


$250 Annual Winner

 The winner of the 
$250 Annual Drawing was
Stephanie Ashby

Congratulations and thanks for supporting the JWAA!